clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Sky Tournament 2012 Bracket And Schedule Unveiled

The 2012 Big Sky Tournament will be without last year's champion, the Northern Colorado Bears, when action gets underway on Saturday.

The 2012 Big Sky Tournament has been finalized and Missoula, Mont., will host the semifinals and finals of this year's tournament. The Montana Grizzlies captured the No. 1 seed in the tournament with a 15-1 conference record. The Grizzlies defeated the Weber St, Wildcats on Tuesday night, sending them to a 14-2 record in the Big Sky.

The Northern Colorado Bears failed to defend its 2011 title by failure to qualify for the title. The Bears went 9-19 overall and 5-11 in the Big Sky. They were in competition for the sixth and final spot through the final week of play, but a loss to Weber State last Thursday shut that door.

Montana and Weber State received first round byes, while the Portland St. Vikings, the Eastern Washington Eagles, the Idaho St. Bengals and the Montana St. Bobcats fill out the remainder of the bracket (PDF).

First Round - Saturday, March 3
At site of No. 3 seed and No. 4 seed
8 p.m. MT - No. 6 Montana State at No. 3 Portland State
3 p.m. MT - No. 5 Idaho State at No. 4 Eastern Washington

Semifinals - Tuesday, March 6
At Missoula, Mont.
5:30 p.m. MT - No. 2 Weber State vs. highest remaining seed (Altitude)
8 p.m. MT - No. 1 Montana vs. lowest remaining seed (Altitude)

Final - Wednesday, March 7
7 p.m. (Mountain) - Semifinal Winners (ESPN2)

For more on the Big Sky Tournament, stick with SB Nation Denver. Head over to SB Nation NCAA Basketball for more news and notes as we approach March Madness.