clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Daytona 500 2012 Qualifying Results: Carl Edwards, Greg Biffle Take Top Spots; Regan Smith Finishes In 39th

Regan Smith must wait until the Gatorade Duels later in the week to determine where he will start in the Daytona 500. He finished 39th overall in Sunday's Daytona 500 Qualifying event. Recall, this speed trial only determines the winners of the pole and the outside pole position, which went to Carl Edwards and Greg Biffle taking those spots, respectively.

This event also provided three drivers who were not qualified for the event to make the field. Those three players are: Trevor Bayne, Tony Raines and David Stremme. Terry Labonte also clinched a spot under the former champion provision.

The Gatorade Duels will take place on Feb. 23.

Here is the complete order of finish:

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  4. Marcos Ambrose
  5. Casey Mears
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  9. Trevor Bayne * (clinched berth in Daytona 500)
  10. Tony Stewart
  11. Mark Martin
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. AJ Allmendinger
  14. Paul Menard
  15. David Ragan
  16. Matt Kenseth
  17. Ryan Newman
  18. AJ Allmendinger
  19. Brad Keselowski
  20. Kevin Harvick
  21. Joey Logano
  22. Clint Bowyer
  23. Jeff Burton
  24. Juan Pablo Montoya
  25. Kasey Kahne
  26. Tony Raines * (clinched berth in Daytona 500)
  27. David Stremme * (clinched berth in Daytona 500)
  28. Kyle Busch
  29. Jamie McMurray
  30. Danica Patrick
  31. Kenny Wallace
  32. Terry Labonte * (guaranteed spot via past champion's provisional)
  33. Dave Blaney
  34. Kurt Busch
  35. Elliott Sadler
  36. Michael Waltrip
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. Denny Hamlin
  39. Regan Smith
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. Landon Cassill
  42. David Gilliland
  43. Bobby Labonte
  44. Bill Elliott
  45. Mike Wallace
  46. David Reutimann
  47. Robert Richardson Jr.
  48. Robby Gordon
  49. JJ Yeley

For more on the Daytona 500, check out SB Nation NASCAR's extensive coverage.