clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 ECAC Lacrosse Tournament: Denver Falls To Loyola In Overtime, 14-13

The ECAC Lacrosse Tournament won't have a repeat championship this year following the No. 4 Denver Pioneers' loss to the No. 1 seed Loyola, Md. Greyhounds on Wednesday. Playing at their own Peter Barton Stadium, host to the tournament, the Pioneers lost when Scott Ratliff won the opening face-off of overtime and scored four seconds later to win, 14-13. Ratliff then went off to the side and Tebowed -- because Denver can never escape Tim Tebow.

The Pioneers allowed 12 goals in the first three periods -- four each time -- but then ran into trouble in the final frame. After allowing one goal, Denver went on to score seven unanswered goals to tie the game, 13-13.

Loyola now waits to find out the winner of the Fairfield-Ohio State matchup on Wednesday evening. The ECAC Championship game will be played at Peter Barton Stadium on Friday.

The Denver Pioneers now appear unlikely to make the NCAA Tournament, losing a chance at the ECAC's automatic bid and holding an 8-6 record that won't cut it for an at-large bid.

For more updates on the Denver Pioneers lacrosse team keep it tuned into SB Nation Denver. For more on college lacrosse head over to College Crosse.