clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Denver will join Summit League in 2013, according to report

The move would make a third conference in three years for the Pioneers.

Andrew Fielding-US PRESSWIRE

The Western Athletic Conference is back on life support as the Denver Pioneers are reportedly headed to the Summit League in 2013, according to report from Jeff Goodman of CBS Sports.

Denver is just a few games into what looks now to be its only year in the WAC. The Pioneers joined the WAC for 2012 after 13 seasons in the Sun Belt Conference. Joining Denver in the WAC for 2012 basketball season were Seattle, UT-Arlington, Texas State, and Texas-San Antonio (UTSA). But the latter three, along with existing WAC members Utah State and San Jose State, are already headed out the door in 2013.

In addition, current WAC member Idaho is set to take its non-football sports to the Big Sky Conference in 2014-15. Because of a recent announcement to add Utah Valley University and Cal State Bakersfield, the 2014 WAC roster would consist of only those two schools, New Mexico State, and Seattle.

The Summit League, once called the Mid-Continent Conference, has been in operation since 1982. Current Summit League membership consists of IPFW, IUPUI, Kansas City, North Dakota State, Oakland, Omaha, South Dakota, South Dakota State, and Western Illinois.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube