clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NBA Shooting Stars Competition: Team New York Defeats Team Texas By 10.3 Second

Team Texas was unable to become the first team to repeat as winners of the Shooting Star Competition, falling to Team New York in the final round. Allan Houston hit the winning three-point attempt to give the Knicks a finishing time of 37.3 seconds, 10.3 seconds better than Texas.

Houston, Landry Fields and Cappie Pondexter formed the winning team. TNT's Kenny Smith was the sharpshooter for Team Texas, hitting the three-point shot in each round, but as a whole they just didn't have enough to beat New York.

New York was the top finisher each time, and the final round was better by 1.4 seconds. Only Orlando, the host team, was unable to complete things in under a minute, going four seconds over.

Round 1 Results (order of participation)

New York 38.7
Texas 42.7
Orlando 1:04
Atlanta 55.3

Round 2 Results

Texas 47.6
New York 37.3

For All-Star weekend updates, stay tuned to SB Nation Denver. For more coverage of the All-Star festivities, head over to SB Nation's NBA news hub.