clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NBA Three-Point Shootout: Kevin Love Defeats Kevin Durant

Minnesota Timberwolves Kevin Love is the 2012 NBA Three-Point Shooting champion, following his 17-14 finals tiebreaker victory over Oklahoma City Thunder's Kevin Durant. Love almost missed making the finals of the Three-Point Shootout because he was tied with Mario Chalmers at 18 buckets after the first round. He won the tiebreaker to advance to the finals. He and Durant both tied at 16 in that part of the competition.

James Jones, the defending champion, won the first round with 22 threes and was followed by Durant's 20. Jones, though, disappointed in the finals with just 12 threes.

Orlando's Ryan Anderson and New Jersey's Anthony Morrow were eliminated in the first round following scores of 17 and 14, respectively.

Round 1 (order of participation)

Mario Chalmers 18
Kevin Love 18*
Anthony Morrow 14
Kevin Durant 20
Ryan Anderson 17
James Jones 22

* - Advanced on tiebreaker

Round 2

Kevin Love 16
Kevin Durant 16
James Jones 12

Finals Tiebreaker

Kevin Love 17
Kevin Durant 14

For All-Star weekend updates, stay tuned to SB Nation Denver. For more coverage of the All-Star festivities, head over to SB Nation's NBA news hub.