clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Shooting Stars Competition 2012 Preview And Participants

The 2012 Shooting Stars Competition will heat up once again with Team Atlanta looking to make it back-to-back victories after 2011's defeat of Team Texas. Joining those two teams this year will be Team New York and host Team Orlando.

This is a competition that puts six shooting locations around half of the court, forcing the three-person teams to hit one shot before the next player can attempt his or her shot. Speed is the name of the game here, and the teams with the fastest times advance to the final round. The championship round features the same setup, including the difficult half-court shot.

Here are the teams, which include one current player from the team, one past player and one WNBA player:

  1. Team New York: Knicks guard Landry Fields, WNBA star Cappie Pondexter and former Knick Allan Houston.
  2. Team Atlanta: Hawks forward Jerry Stackhouse, WNBA star Lindsey Harding and former Hawk Steve Smith.
  3. Team Texas: Rockets forward Chandler Parsons, WNBA star Sophia Young and former Rocket Kenny Smith.
  4. Team Orlando: Magic guard Jameer Nelson, WNBA star Marie Ferdinand-Harris and former Magic star Dennis Scott.

Time: 6:30 p.m. MT, Saturday, Feb. 25, 2012

Location: Amway Center, Orlando, Fla.


For All-Star weekend updates, stay tuned to SB Nation Denver. For more coverage of the All-Star festivities, head over to SB Nation's NBA news hub.