clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nuggets Vs. Thunder: NBA Issues Statement On Kendrick Perkins' Goaltending Non-Call

The NBA released a statement on Monday afternoon regarding the non-call of offensive goaltending on Kendrick Perkins in Game 1 of the Nuggets-Thunder game:

"Kendrick Perkins was improperly credited with a basket that should have been ruled offensive basket interference with 1:05 remaining in last night's game. Although a player is permitted to touch the net while the ball is in the cylinder above the rim, Perkins also touched the ball while it was still in the cylinder which is a violation and constitutes goaltending."

You can see video of Kendrick Perkins' illegal touch here.

While it's good to know that the NBA admits the play was a blown call, it doesn't change all that much. Even if the refs had gotten the call correct, there's no way to know how the game would have played out. We just can't know that. Maybe the Nuggets would have committed a turnover on the ensuing possession and given the Thunder an opportunity to take the lead then. It happened, the NBA acknowledged the blown call, so let's move on.