clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Denver Broncos Release 2012 Preseason Depth Chart

The Denver Broncos released the first preseason depth chart ahead of Thursday's preseason opener against the Chicago Bears. There are no real surprises to be found here. Peyton Manning is the starting quarterback; Willis McGahee is the starting running back; and Eric Decker and Demaryius Thomas are the starting wide receiver.

On defense, Elvis Dumervil is the starting right defensive end and Jason Hunter, as noted over the weekend, has moved ahead of Robert Ayers on the other side of the line. D.J. Williams is listed as the starting weakside linebacker, but with a six-game suspension in the offing he won't be there when the regular season starts.

Other notes: Derek Wolfe is running second-team defensive end behind Hunter while Ayers is Dumervil's backup. Guard Chris Kuper is still making his way back from a nasty leg injury, but he is first at right guard. Lance Ball is behind McGahee at running back while rookie Ronnie Hillman is third-string for now. Caleb Hanie is Peyton Manning's backup, which is just incredibly scary for plenty of fans.

Check out the depth chart below:

POS First Second Third Other
WR Demaryius Thomas Matthew Willis Jason Hill Greg Orton Tyler Grisham Cameron Kenney
LT Ryan Clady Chris Clark Mike Remmers
LG Zane Beadles Adam Grant Austin Wuebbels
C J.D. Walton C.J. Davis Philip Blake
RG Chris Kuper Manny Ramirez Tony Hills Wayne Tribue
RT Orlando Franklin Ryan Harris
TE Joel Dreessen Jacob Tamme Virgil Green Julius Thomas Anthony Miller Cornelius Ingram
WR Eric Decker Andre Caldwell Brandon Stokley Mark Dell Gerell Robinson
QB Peyton Manning Caleb Hanie Brock Osweiler Adam Weber
FB Chris Gronkowski Austin Sylvester
RB Willis McGahee Lance Ball Ronnie Hillman Knowshon Moreno Jeremiah Johnson Xavier Omon

POS First Second Third Other
LDE Jason Hunter Derek Wolfe Jeremy Beal
DT Ty Warren Kevin Vickerson Malik Jackson Ben Garland
NT Justin Bannan Mitch Unrein Sealver Siliga
RDE Elvis Dumervil Robert Ayers Cyril Obiozor Jamie Blatnick
SLB Von Miller Nate Irving Jerry Franklin
MLB Joe Mays Mike Mohamed Steven Johnson
WLB D.J. Williams Wesley Woodyard Danny Trevathan Elliot Coffey
LCB Champ Bailey Chris Harris Tony Carter Joshua Moore Ramzee Robinson
RCB Tracy Porter Drayton Florence Omar Bolden Syd'Quan Thompson
SS Quinton Carter Mike Adams David Bruton Duke Ihenacho
FS Rahim Moore Rafael Bush Jim Leonhard Anthony Perkins

POS First Second
K Matt Prater Britton Colquitt
P Britton Colquitt Matt Prater
H Britton Colquitt
LS Lonie Paxton Aaron Brewer
PR Eric Decker Syd'Quan Thompson
KR Lance Ball Matthew Willis

For more on the Broncos, visit Mile High Report. Check out SB Nation NFL for more news and notes.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube