clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mountain West Basketball Awards 2012: Colorado State, Air Force And Boise State All Represented

The 2012 Mountain West Conference Men's Basketball All-Conference Awards have been dispensed, and the Colorado Rams and Air Force Falcons both had players who earned honors. Colorado State Junior guard Wes Eikemeier made the first-team All-Mountain West squad, while junior guard Michael Lyons represented the Falcons on the second team. The third team included two more Rams, junior guard Dorian Green and junior forward Pierce Hornung, while Hornug also picked up all-defensive honors as well.

The Boise State Broncos also had a pair of freshmen -- swingman Anthony Drmic and guard Derrick Marks -- make their way on to the honorable mention list. The big ticket awards didn't exactly surprise. Jamaal Franklin of the San Diego State Aztecs won Player of the Year, while coach of the year went to Steve Fisher of the Aztecs. Here is a complete look at the list of award winners in the Mountain West conference in 2012:

Player of the Year: Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State
Defensive Player of the Year: JayDee Luster, Wyoming
Newcomer of the Year: Mike Moser, UNLV
Freshman of the Year: Kyan Anderson, TCU
Sixth Man of the Year: Amric Fields, TCU
Coach of the Year: Steve Fisher, San Diego State

(Selected by media and head coaches)
First-Team All-Mountain West Cl. Pos. Ht. Wt. City, State
Wes Eikmeier, Colorado State Jr. G 6-3 168 Fremont, Neb.
Drew Gordon, New Mexico* Sr. F 6-9 245 San Jose, Calif.
Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State So. G 6-5 195 Hawthorne, Calif.
Hank Thorns Jr., TCU* Sr. G 5-9 165 Las Vegas, Nev.
Mike Moser, UNLV So. F 6-8 210 Portland, Ore.
Second-Team All-Mountain West
Michael Lyons, Air Force* Jr. G 6-6 198 Newport News, Va.
Kendall Williams, New Mexico So. G 6-3 180 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Chase Tapley, San Diego State Jr. G 6-3 195 Sacramento, Calif.
Anthony Marshall, UNLV Jr. G 6-3 200 Las Vegas, Nev.
Leonard Washington, Wyoming Jr. F 6-7 235 Lake Charles, La.
Third-Team All-Mountain West
Dorian Green, Colorado State Jr. G 6-2 192 Lawrence, Kan.
Pierce Hornung, Colorado State Jr. F 6-5 210 Arvada, Colo.
J.R. Cadot, TCU Sr. G 6-5 205 Nassau, Bahamas
Oscar Bellfield, UNLV* Sr. G 6-2 190 Los Angeles, Calif.
Chace Stanback, UNLV** Sr. G/F 6-8 215 Los Angeles, Calif.
All-Defensive Team
Pierce Hornung, Colorado State Jr. F 6-5 210 Arvada, Colo.
Tim Shelton, San Diego State Sr. F 6-7 240 Fresno, Calif.
Anthony Marshall, UNLV Jr G 6-3 200 Las Vegas, Nev.
Mike Moser, UNLV So. F 6-8 210 Portland, Ore.
JayDee Luster, Wyoming Sr. G 5-9 160 San Diego, Calif.
Honorable Mention All-Mountain West
Anthony Drmic, Fr., G/F, Boise State
Derrick Marks, Fr., G, Boise State
Tony Snell, So., G, New Mexico
Tim Shelton, Sr., F, San Diego State
Xavier Thames, So., G, San Diego State
Francisco Cruz, Sr., G, Wyoming
JayDee Luster, Sr., G, Wyoming

For more on the 2012 Mountain West Tournament, stick with SB Nation Denver andMountain West Connection. Head over to SB Nation NCAA Basketball for more on March Madness.