clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Colorado State Football 2012: Spring Game Set For April 21

The Colorado State Rams begin spring practice on March 21 and finish with the spring game on April 21.

Getty Images

The Colorado St. Rams football team will begin spring practice on Wednesday, March 21, officially kicking off Jim McElwain's first time on a practice field with his new team.

The Rams will have three open-to-the-public scrimmages at Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium, culminating on April 21 with the spring game. The other two scrimmages are on Friday, April 6, and Sunday, April 15. On April 13, practice will be held at Infinity Park in Glendale.

This will be the time for Garrett Grayson to firmly secure his place as the Rams' starting quarterback this season. With Pete Thomas transferring to North Carolina State, Grayson, who took over fro Thomas at the end of the season, doesn't have great competition for the position.

Here is the full schedule:

Wed., March 21: Practice #1, on-campus practice facility
Fri., March 23: Practice #2, on-campus practice facility
Mon., March 26: Practice #3, on-campus practice facility
Wed., March 28: Practice #4, on-campus practice facility
Fri., March 30: Practice #5, on-campus practice facility
Mon., April 2: Practice #6, on-campus practice facility
Wed., April 4: Practice #7, on-campus practice facility
Fri., April 6: Practice #8, (SCRIMMAGE) Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium
Mon., April 9: Practice #9, on-campus practice facility
Wed., April 11: Practice #10, on-campus practice facility
Fri., April 13: Practice #11, Infinity Park, Glendale (Denver Metro Area)
Sun., April 15: Practice #12 (SCRIMMAGE), Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium
Tue., April 17: Practice #13, on-campus practice facility
Thu., April 18: Practice #14, on-campus practice facility
Sat., April 21: Spring game, Sonny Lubick Field at Hughes Stadium

For more on CSU football, visit MWC blog Mountain West Connection and SB Nation Denver.