clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Roy Halladay Unanimous Cy Young Winner, Ubaldo Jimenez Places Third

Philadelphia right handed pitcher and Colorado native Roy Halladay has been unanimously voted the 2010 NL Cy Young winner. Halladay capped off yet another stellar season in his first season pitching within the National League.

Acquired via blockbuster trade during the offseason from Toronto, Halladay proved to be exactly what Philadelphia was looking for. Unfortunately, they were upset by the eventual World Series San Francisco Giants, but that doesn’t change Halladay’s remarkable season. He became only the second pitcher to throw a post-season no-hitter, after Don Larsen. Even more impressive, Halladay became only the 20th pitcher in baseball history to pitch a perfect game.

For the season, Halladay threw 250.2 innings with an ERA of 2.44 and a record of 21-10. He deserved to be the unanimous NL Cy Young winner.

Colorado Rockies pitcher Ubaldo Jimenez created some franchise history, becoming only the third Rockies pitcher to receive Cy Young voting, after Marvin Freeman in 1994 and Jeff Francis in 2007. Jimenez also became the first Rockies pitcher to receive second place votes, and the first Rockies pitcher to place in the Top 3 of the Cy Young voting. Jimenez failed to reach the landmark 20 wins, but was selected as the NL starter in the All-Star game, also a franchise first. He also pitched the first ever no-hitter for Colorado on April 17, 2010 against the Atlanta Braves.

Read the community response at Purple Row.