clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado football awards 2012: Pericak becomes 1st Boulder-born MVP since 1969

After a tough year, the Colorado football team handed out its postseason awards. Defensive end Will Pericak was named team MVP.


It might not have been a perfect year for the Colorado Buffaloes -- or anything close to perfect, for that matter -- but like always, the team had awards to hand out, and it was Will Pericak who went home with team MVP honors.

The senior defensive end was the first Boulder-born player to win the award since 1969, when tailback Bobby Anderson took home the prize.

For the season, Pericak picked up 62 tackles, 38 of them solo. He also forced four fumbles and was named honorable mention All-Pac-12. Not surprisingly, Pericak took home the Dave Jones Award as well, which is awarded to the team's top defensive player.

On the offensive side of the ball, the John Mack Award was split between junior David Bakhtiari and senior Nick Kasa.

Sophomore Brady Daigh won the Bill McCartney Award as Colorado's best player on special teams.

The complete list of awards, from

Zack Jordan Award (most valuable player, selected by teammates): DE Will Pericak
John Mack Award (outstanding offensive players): OT David Bakhtiari, TE Nick Kasa
Dave Jones Award (outstanding defensive player): DE Will Pericak
Bill McCartney Award (special teams achievement): ILB Brady Daigh
Lee Willard Award (outstanding freshman): TB Christian Powell
Dean Jacob Van Ek Award (academic excellence): DE Will Pericak
Offensive Scout Award: QB Shane Dillon
Defensive Scout Award: OLB Lowell Williams
Best Interview (selected by team beat media): OT David Bakhtiari, FS Ray Polk

Previously announced:
Buffalo Heart Award
(selected by "the fans behind the bench"): DE Will Pericak