clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Heisman Trophy winner: Johnny Manziel first freshman to capture award

Add Johnny Manziel to the list of Heisman Trophy winners, who captured the famed award Saturday.

Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

Texas A&M Aggies quarterback Johnny Manziel has won the 2012 Heisman Trophy. He beat out Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o and Kansas State quarterback (and Loveland, Colo., native) Collin Klein on Saturday evening at the Best Buy Theater in New York City.

Manziel received 2,029 points, well ahead of Te'o's 1,706 points and Klein's 894. Four hundred seventy-four first-place votes came in for Manziel. As a result, Manziel became the first freshman to win the award.

The Colorado Buffaloes didn't have any contenders, obviously, but the school does have one Heisman Trophy winner. Running back Rashaan Salaam beating out Penn State's Ki-Jana Carter, Alcorn State's Steve McNair and Penn State's Kerry Collins in 1994. Salaam received 400 first-place votes and 1,743 total points.

The Colorado players who were on the cusp of capturing college football's most-treasured individual prize, but ultimately finished second and third were running back and future associate justice of the United States Supreme Court Byron "Whizzer" White in 1937 and running back Eric Bieniemy in 1990.