clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Heisman Trophy Results: Kellen Moore Joins Tim Tebow As Three-Time Top 10 Finisher

The 2011 Heisman Trophy Race has come and gone. Baylor Bears quarterback Robert Griffin III now joins former Colorado Buffaloes running back Rashaan Salaam and current Denver Broncos quarterback Tim Tebow as members of an elite fraternity in college football. Salaam won the award in 1994 and Tebow took home the trophy in 2007 as a sophomore.

Tebow finished in the top 10 of Heisman voting for three straight years, which Boise St. Broncos quarterback Kellen Moore accomplished this year. Tebow won the award over Darren McFadden in 2007, finished in third place behind Sam Bradford and Colt McCoy in 2008 and closed things out with a fifth place finish in 2009 (before he became a first round pick in the 2010 NFL Draft).

Moore took seventh place as a sophomore in 2009, was fourth in 2010 and settled at No. 8 in the 2011 race. A loss to the TCU Horned Frogs is likely the top reason why he didn't wind up in New York for the ceremony, but he still received six first place votes this year.

For more on the 2011 Heisman and the rest of college football, visit SB Nation NCAA Football.