clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Heisman Trophy Winner: Robert Griffin III Joins College Football's Immortals

Robert Griffin III won the 2011 Heisman Trophy over Stanford's Andrew Luck, Alabama's Trent Richardson, LSU's Tyrann Mathieu and Wisconsin's Montee Ball. The Bayulor Bears starting quarterback, who wore Superman socks to the ceremony, threw for 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns. He completed 72.4 percent of his passes, but for several weeks into the season he had more touchdown passes than incompletions.

He led the Bears to three victories over ranked teams: TCU, Oklahoma and Texas. The victory over Oklahoma was his Heisman coming out part for much of the nation. Griffin threw the game-winning touchdown with eight seconds left in the game for the 45-38 victory.

He is Baylor's first Heisman Trophy winner.

Stanford's Andrew Luck finished second for a second year in a row.

Here are the top five voting results:

1) Griffin 1,687
2) Luck 1,407
3) Richardson 978
4) Ball 348
5) Mathieu 327

The bottom half of the top 10:

6) Matt Barkley
7) Case Keenum
8) Kellen Moore
9) Russell Wilson
10) LaMichael James

For more on the 2011 Heisman and the rest of college football, visit SB Nation NCAA Football.