clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Football Awards: Somewhat Vindicated, Rodney Stewart Named To Media's All-Big 12 Team

The media has released their version of the All-Big 12 team and it, in terms of the University of Colorado, it varies pretty significantly from the coaches. First, and most importantly, the media named running back Rodney Stewart to the second team with Aggie running back Cyrus Gray, who was a honorable mention on the coaches list. There are a lot of good backs in the conference in the year, but Speedy deserved to be on the list. Offensive lineman Nate Solder was named to the first team once again, but Jimmy Smith was left off this time after being first team from the coaches. Another newcomer in this list is defensive lineman Josh Hartigan to the second team, a deserved, if not surprising honor.

Check out the award winners below and click through to see the first and second teams.Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma State

Defensive Player of the Year: Jeremy Beal, DE, Oklahoma

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Taylor Martinez, QB, Nebraska

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Lavonte David, LB, Nebraska

Coach of the Year: Mike Sherman, Texas A&M