clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado Avalanche Training Camp 2011: Elliott Reassigned As Colorado Finalizes Opening Night Roster

The Colorado Avalanche have finalized their 2011 Opening Night roster, as rookie defenseman Stefan Elliott has been reassigned to the AHL Lake Erie Monsters.

Elliott opened eyes with his excellent camp and performances in preseason games, but the clulb has determined that he will be better served with some experience and regular playing time in the AHL. If there is a major injury to one of the Avalanche's defensemen, Elliott will be on the short list of players to recall. Colorado did something similar last season with defenseman Kevin Shattenkirk, as he spent the first 11 games of the regular season in the AHL.

Kyle Cumiskey (groin), Brandon Yip (arm), and Mark Olver (head) have all been placed on the Injured Reserve list to start the season. Defenseman Jan Hejda was initially expected to miss the first two weeks of the regular season with a knee injury, but his recovery has been much faster than expected.

Here is the official roster for Opening Night 2011:


Semyon Varlamov

Jean-Sebastien Giguere



Paul  Stastny

Matt Duchene

Ryan O’Reilly

Jay McClement

David Jones

Chuck Kobasew

Milan Hejduk

Peter Mueller

Gabriel Landeskog

Daniel Winnik

Joakim Lindstrom

Kevin Porter

Cody McLeod

T.J. Galiardi



Erik Johnson

Jan Hejda

Kyle Quincey

Ryan O’Byrne

Shane O’Brien

Matt Hunwick

Ryan Wilson


As expected, second overall selection Landeskog has made the Opening Night roster and will likely slot in at left wing on O'Reilly's third line.