clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 AFC Pro Bowl roster: Manning to lead AFC in Honolulu

Peyton Manning was selected to the Pro Bowl for the 12th time in his career as the NFL announced the AFC and NFC rosters.


Peyton Manning will lead a fearsome offensive group for the AFC in this year's Pro Bowl, as the MVP-candidate quarterback will be the starter under center for his conference in Honolulu.

Along with Manning, who was named to the Pro Bowl roster for the 12th time in his career, the AFC will boast a starting lineup of Arian Foster at running back, A.J. Green and Andre Johnson at wide receiver, Rob Gronkowski at tight end, and an offensive line of Joe Thomas, Duane Brown, Logan Mankins, Marshal Yanda and Maurkice Pouncey.

On the defensive side of the ball, the AFC will have J.J. Watt and Cameron Wake coming off the edge, Geno Atkins and Vince Wilfork up the middle, and a linebacking corps of Von Miller, Tamba Hali and Jerod Mayo. The secondary will be comprised of Johnathan Joseph, Champ Bailey, Ed Reed and Eric Berry.

Special teams will feature Kansas City's Dustin Colquitt punting, Phil Dawson as the placekicker, Jacoby Jones as the kick returner, and New England's Matthew Slater as the top special teams player. A long snapper hasn't been announced.

Overall, Houston led the way with eight players chosen and five starters. New England finished second with seven players—including Tom Brady backing up Manning—followed by Baltimore with six, including Ray Rice and Haloti Ngata. Denver and Kansas City will each send five players. Along with Manning, Miller and Bailey, the other Broncos selected were Ryan Clady and Elvis Dumervil.

The Pro Bowl will take place on Jan. 27 in Honolulu.