clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame semifinalists include Terrell Davis, Steve Atwater

Four former Denver Broncos were named semifinalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2013.

Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE

Four former Denver Broncos are among the 27 semifinalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2013. Running back Terrell Davis, safety Steve Atwater, linebacker Karl Mecklenburg, and free safety John Lynch, who is eligible for the first time this year.

Davis spent seven seasons with the Broncos, including their two Super Bowl seasons in 1997 and 1998. He rushed for 2,008 yards and 21 touchdowns in 1998, his last full season before injuries derailed his career. Davis retired after the 2001 season with 7,607 yards and 60 touchdowns rushing as well as another 1,280 yards and 5 touchdowns receiving.

Atwater played for the Broncos from 1989-1998 and spent one season with the New York Jets before retiring. He was an eight-time Pro Bowl selection and finished his career with 1,074 tackles and 24 interceptions.

Mecklenburg played for the Broncos from 1983-1994. He made six Pro Bowls and recorded 1,104 tackles, 79 sacks, and 16 forced fumbles with Denver.

Lynch spent the first 11 years of his career in Tampa Bay, but his last four in Denver before retiring after the 2007 season. Lynch was a nine-time Pro Bowl selection with 740 tackles, 26 interceptions and 16 forced fumbles.

The full list of semifinalists can be found here.