clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maxwell Award Winner 2011: Andrew Luck Beats Out Kellen Moore, Trent Richardson

Is Stanford Cardinal quarterback Andrew Luck on his way to winning the 2011 Heisman Trophy? He picked up the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Maxwell Award for top collegiate player of the year. The announcement closed out ESPN's 2011 College Football Awards show on Thursday night.

Luck threw for 3,150 yards and 35 touchdowns, the latter a new personal and school record for a single season. He also broke John Elway's career passing touchdown record, which stands at 80 with one game left to go. Luck's season highlight came when he delivered a victory for Stanford in triple overtime against the USC Trojans.

Boise St. Broncos quarterback Kellen Moore and Alabama Crimson Tide running back Trent Richardson were the other finalists. Moore threw for 3,507 yards and 41 touchdowns as a senior. He also broke the NCAA career victories record and has 49 heading into the Las Vegas Bowl. Richardson will play in the national title game. He has 1,583 rushing yards and 20 rushing touchdowns.

For more on the college football awards, visit SB Nation 2011 College Football Awards StoryStream.