clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Conference Realignment 2012: Mountain West, Conference USA Will Dissolve In 2013 Form New League, According To Report

Conference realignment in college sports isn't done just yet. While the Big East has added Navy and Memphis in recent weeks, Conference USA and the Mountain West have continued to discuss their options for a merger. It now appears that the two conferences will dissolve in 2013 and form one new league, according to CBS Sports' Brett McMurphy.

This is being done for legal reasons according to McMurphy's sources. It would merge the eight teams from Conference USA with the eight teams of the Mountain West to form a 16-team football league. The rest of the new conference would consist of 15 teams in other sports since Hawaii is a football-only member of the Mountain West (Big West in other sports).

The 16 teams in the football conference would be:

Southern Miss, Marshall, East Carolina, UAB, Tulsa, Rice, UTEP and Tulane from C-USA and Wyoming, Air Force, Colorado State, UNLV, New Mexico, Fresno State, Nevada and Hawaii from the MW.

Head to SB Nation College Football for more in-depth coverage of the 2012 NCAA college football season.