clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Conference Realignment: Big East Announces Addition Of Five Schools, Including Boise State

It had been rumored for a few days now, but the Big East Conference formally announced on Wednesday that it had officially added five schools its ranks: Boise State, Houston, SMU, Central Florida and San Diego State.

The big names here are obviously Boise State and Houston, as each school has established itself as a legitimate football powerhouse over the past few years. Boise State and San Diego State will only be entering the division for football, though, while the other three schools will be competing in the Big East conference in all sports. According to ESPN, Boise State's other sports will be played in the Western Athletic Conference, while San Diego State's will be played in the Big West Conference. 

The conference has also been pursuing membership for the Air Force Falcons and Navy Midshipmen as football-only members, but neither school has committed yet. All five teams wil begin play in the Big East in 2013.

Head to SB Nation College Football for more in-depth coverage of the 2011 NCAA college football season.