clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Tour de France Results: Mark Cavendish Takes Stage 2 Victory For 21st Win in TdF

Mark Cavendish has won his 21 stage on the Tour de France by taking Stage 2 (Visé to Tournai) on Monday. He defeated Andre Greipel by part of a wheel, crossing the finish line in 4:56:59. But the riders behind him all received the same time for the stage.

Cavendish and Greipel came down the final sprint to the finish line in a heated battle, one trying to take advantage of the other. Behind them Matthew Goss was looking to break out in front of them, but there was no room. Instead Cavendish pushed forward and came away with the victory.

The yellow jersey standings remain the same with Fabian Cancellara (10:02:31) keeping the jersey for another day (he first took it after winning the prologue). Garmin-Sharp's Ryder Hesjedal remains in 10th place, an 18-second gap ahead of him.

Here is how the top 10 finished for Stage 2:

1. Mark Cavendish, Sky Procycling, 4:56:59
2. Andre Greipel, Lotto-Belisol Team, s.t.
3. Matthew Goss, Orica Greenedge, s.t
4. Tom Veelers, Team Argos-Shimano, s.t.
5. Alessandro Petacchi, Lampre-ISD, s.t.
6. Peter Sagan, Liquigas-Cannondale, s.t.
7. Yauheni Hutarovich, FDJ-Bigmat, s.t.
8. Juan Jose Haedo, Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank, s.t.
9. Mark Renshaw, Rabobank Cycling Team, s.t.
10. Tyler Farrar, Garmin-Sharp, s.t.

SB Nation Denver is your source for 2012 Tour de France updates on Team Garmin-Sharp, and be sure to visit cycling blog Podium Cafe as well.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube