clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Tour de France Results: Garmin-Sharp's David Millar Wins Stage 12

Garmin-Sharp has had a tough time as a team in the 2012 Tour de France, but on Friday David Millar won Stage 12 in a short sprint to the finish line. He and Jean-Christophe Peraud were locked in basically a dead heat as they entered the final kilometer, but eventually Millar took over the sprint ahead of Peraud and pulled ahead of him right as he crossed the finish line.

The peloton finished nearly eight minutes behind the top five finishers. Matthew Goss and Peter Sagan led way for the peloton, but Sagan was upset that Goss had crossed in front of his line.

Bradley Wiggins still wears the yellow jersey and maintains +2:05 lead on his nearest competitor.

Team Garmin-Sharp has seen Ryder Hesjedal, the 2012 Giro d'Italia winner, and Tom Danielson were both lost to the race several stages ago, preventing them from having any cyclist who could challenge for the general classification lead.

Here is how the top of the race finished (NBC Sports Network results):

1. David Millar, 5:42:46
2. Jean-Christophe Peraud, s.t.
3. Egoi Martinez, +0:05
4. Cyril Gautier, s.t.
5. Robert Kiserlovski, s.t.
6. Matthew Goss, +7:53
7. Peter Sagan, s.t.
8. Sebastien Hinault, +7:54
9. Cadel Evans, s.t.
10. Luca Paolini, s.t.

SB Nation Denver is your source for 2012 Tour de France updates on Team Garmin-Sharp, and be sure to visit cycling blog Podium Cafe as well.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube