clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 FCS Walter Payton Award Nominees: DeNarius McGhee, Rodrick Rumble And Brad Sorensen Named To List

The Sports Network has released its list of 2012 FCS Walter Payton Award Nominees, an award given to the most outstanding offensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision each year, and four big-name players from the Big Sky Conference are list. Of the 20 initial nominees, quarterbacks DeNarius McGhee of Montana State and Brad Sorensen of Southern Utah join wide receiver Rodrick Rumble of Idaho State and running back Zach Bauman of Northern Arizona as hopefuls from the Big Sky.

As noted in the Sports Network story, McGhee is the only two-time finalist nominated this season -- he finished seventh in 2010 and 13th in 2011 -- while Sorensen has thrown for more than 3,100 yards each of the past two seasons and could make a run at the award this year.

For more, stick with SB Nation Denver. For more news, notes and analysis from around the country, head over to SB Nation's college football news hub.