clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Tour de France Results, Stage 1: Peter Sagan Captures Victory, But Fabian Cancellara Maintains Yellow Jersey

Peter Sagan of Liquigas-Cannondale captured Stage 1 of the 2012 Tour de France by crossing the finish line in 4:58:19. This was his 14th victory of the year. Many might remember his dominance during the first several stages of the Amgen Tour of California back in May.

Fabian Cancellara, the yellow jersey wearer, did well down the final 20 kilometers of the race to finish in second on Stage 1. He maintained the maillot jaune because he was awarded the same time as Sagan. Boulder, CO's, Team Garmin-Sharp place two riders in the top 10 with Dan Martin and 2012 Giro d'Italia winner Ryder Hesjedal taking eighth and ninth places.

For almost the entire course on Sunday there was a group of six riders leading the front, but the peloton overcame several crashes to catch up in the final kilometers.

Cancellara maintains a seven-second lead over Bradley Wiggins and Sylvain Chavanel at 5:05:32. Hesjedal is in 10th place, trailing by 18 seconds.

Here is the top 10 for Stage 1:

Peter Sagan, Liquigas-Cannondale, 4:58:19
Fabian Cancellara, Radioshack-Nissan, s.t.
Edvald Boasson Hagen, Sky Procycling, s.t.
Philippe Gilbert, BMC Racing Team, s.t.
Bauke Mollema, Rabobank Cycling Team, s.t.
Alejandro Valverde, Movistar Team, s.t.
Robert Gesink, Rabobank, s.t.
Dan Martin, Garmin-Sharp, s.t.
Ryder Hesjedal, Garmin-Sharp, s.t.
Dries Devenyns, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, s.t.

SB Nation Denver is your source for 2012 Tour de France updates on Team Garmin-Sharp, and be sure to visit cycling blog Podium Cafe as well.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube