clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Playoffs: Presidential Oversight Committee Approves 4-Team Playoff Format

Playoffs are finally coming to the Football Bowl Subdivision; on Tuesday, a committee of college presidents approved a proposal for a four-team playoff system that will replace the current BCS system in 2014. This new four-team format is set to run through 2025.

The 11 conference commissioners and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick presented their proposal to a board of 12 university presidents at the Dupont Circle Hotel. In less than three hours, the group agreed upon a postseason that college football fans have been clamoring for years.

Related: BCS Achieves Consensus On Four-Team Playoff Format

The plan calls for the semifinals to rotate between six current bowl sites, though the sites have not yet been determined. The championship game will go to the highest bidder, and the playoff teams will be chosen by a selection committee. The makeup of that committee and playoff revenue distribution are among the issues that still need to be resolved.

For updates, stay tuned to SB Nation Denver and check out SB Nation's college football hub.