clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 College World Series Schedule: South Carolina Seeks Threepeat, Will Face Arizona In Finals

The 2012 College World Series comes down to a final best-of-three series between the Arizona Wildcats and the South Carolina Gamecocks. Arizona booked its trip to the finals by going 3-0 in the double-elimination portion of the Omaha bracket, defeating Florida St. twice and UCLA once. The road wasn't that easy for South Carolina. They defeated the No. 1 national seed Florida Gators before having a 12-game winning streak in Omaha snapped by the Arkansas Razorbacks. South Carolina, however, bounced back by defeating Kent St. and Arkansas on Thursday (inclement weather postponed the Wednesday game against Kent St.), to force a decisive Friday game against Arkansas. South Carolina won that game, 3-2.

Arizona last won the College World Series in 1986 while head coach Andy Lopez led Pepperdine to the title in 1992. South Carolina has won the last two College World Series titles, beating UCLA in 2010 and Florida in 2011. No team has won the CWS three times in the Field of 64 era.

Here is the College World Series title series schedule:

Sunday, June 24
Arizona vs. South Carolina, 6:00 p.m. MT, ESPN2

Monday, June 25
Arizona vs. South Carolina, 6:00 p.m. MT, ESPN

Tuesday, June 26 (if necessary)
Arizona vs. South Carolina, 6:00 p.m. MT, ESPN

For updates, stay tuned to SB Nation Denver. For a complete bracket, visit

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube