clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 College World Series Schedule Set, Will Begin On June 15

The 2012 College World Series will begin on Friday, June 15, with the South Carolina Gamecocks looking for a third straight title in Omaha, Neb. But can the upstarts,the Kent St. Golden Flashes and the Stony Brook Seawolves, make some additional noise as they try to knock off teams from the West Coast and the South, the perennial powerhouse locations for college baseball?

The College World Series begins with a double-elimination setup until only the final two teams remain. Those two battle-hardened teams will then take part in a best-of-three championship series. South Carolina defeated Florida in the title series in 2011, but this year they play each other in an opening round contest in Bracket 2.

Here are the matchups for the first two days (head here for the complete schedule):

Friday, June 15

No. 4 Stony Brook vs. No. 1 UCLA, 3:00 p.m. MT, ESPN2
No. 1 Arizona vs. No. 1 Florida State, 7:00 p.m. MT, ESPN2

Saturday, June 16

No. 3 Kent State vs. No. 2 Arkansas, 3:00 p.m. MT, ESPN
No. 1 South Carolina vs. No. 1 Florida, 7:00 p.m. MT, ESPN

For updates, stay tuned to SB Nation Denver. For a complete bracket, visit

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube