clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Indy 500 Winner And Results: Dario Franchitti Captures 3rd Victory

Dario Franchitti has laid claim to the 2012 Indy 500 championship after a tense finish to the race. Marco Andretti crashed on Turn 1 while in eighth place and then Takuma Sato attempted to take the lead on Franchitti and also crashed. Franchitti then was able to pick up his third victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, previously winning in 2007 and 2010.

Video of the victory can be seen below:

And so we see the Target car cross the finish line for the victory, Andretti pumping his fist exultantly. Also, Ashley Judd, who might just be the best known IndyCar fan, celebrates the victory since she is married to Franchitti. "One! Two! Three! Oh my!"

Here are the complete results:

1. Dario Franchitti
2. Scott Dixon
3. Tony Kanaan
4. Oriol Servia
5. Ryan Briscoe
6. James Hinchcliffe
7. Justin Wilson
8. Charlie Kimball
9. Townsend Bell
10. Helio Castroneves
11. Rubens Barrichello
12. Alex Tagliani
13. Graham Rahal
14. JR Hildebrand
15. James Jakes
16. Simon Pagenaud
17. Takuma Sato
18. E.J. Viso
19. Michel Jourdain Jr.
20. Sebastien Bourdais
21. Ed Carpenter
22. Katherine Legge
23. Ana Beatriz
24. Marco Andretti
25. Josef Newgarden
26. Sebastian Saavedra
27. Ryan Hunter-Reay
28. Will Power
29. Mike Conway
30. Bryan Clauson
31. Wade Cunningham
32. Simona De Silvestro
33. Jean Alesi

For more updates on the Indy 500, stay tuned to this SB Nation StoryStream. For more on Indy racing, including the 2012 Indianapolis 500, please visit Pop Off Valve.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube