clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Giro d'Italia 2012 Winner: Ryder Hesjedal Becomes 1st Canadian To Win Maglia Rosa

Ryder Hesjedal won the 2012 Giro d'Italia on Sunday, becoming the first Canadian to win the race. He was 31 seconds behind Joaquim Rodriguez before the day started, but Hesjedal overcame that with a sixth-place finish in the individual time trial in Milan. He ran the course in 34:15 while Rodriguez finished at 35:02. The 47-second pickup gave Hesjedal a 16-second victory and the maglia rosa.

Hesjedal also gives Team Garmin-Barracuda a victory in a Grand Tour. Garmin is headquartered in Boulder, CO.

Here is how the top 10 finished on Stage 21 (full standings):

Pos. Name Country Team Time d
1 Marco Pinotti ITA BMC 33:06 0:00
2 Geraint Thomas GBR SKY 33:45 0:39
3 Jesse Sergent NZL RNT 33:59 0:53
4 Alex Rasmussen DEN GRM 34:06 1:00
5 Thomas De Gendt BEL VCD 34:07 1:01
6 Ryder Hesjedal CAN GRM 34:15 1:09
7 Gustav Erik Larsson SWE VCD 34:20 1:14
8 Maciej Bodnar POL LIQ 34:21 1:15
9 Svein Tuft CAN OGE 34:28 1:22
10 Julien Vermote BEL OPQ 34:29 1:23

For more on the 2012 Giro d'Italia, stick with SB Nation Denver and visit cycling blog Podium Cafe.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube