clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Giro d'Italia Results: Paolo Tiralongo Captures Stage 7 Victory; Ryder Hesjedal Wears Maglia Rosa

Garmin-Barracuda regained the maglia rosa (pink jersey) at the conclusion of Stage 7 as Ryder Hesjedal moved from third place up to leader of the general classification. However, Hesjedal did not take the stage. That honor went to Paolo Tiralongo. Michele Scarponi, the 2011 Giro winner, and Frank Schleck finished in second and third place.

Tiralongo, however, is now second overall in the general classification, behind Hesjedal's 26:16:53 by 15 seconds. Christian Vande Velda and Peter Stetina are now fourth and fifth overall in the general classification, behind by 21 and 26 seconds, respectively.

For a breakdown of how the stage went, head over to Podium Cafe. Here's a teaser (emphasis added):

The pair got a modest gap and ground their way to the line, with Scarponi leading out the opportunistic Tiralongo for the win. Frank Schleck sprinted for the final time bonus ahead of Joaquim Rodriguez, while Garmin's Ryder Hesjedal finished fifth to become the first Canadian to wear the maglia rosa.

1. Paolo Tiralongo, Astana 5:51:03
2. Michele Scarponi, Lampre -
3. Frank Schleck, R-N-T :03
4. Joaquim Rodriguez, Katusha -
5. Ryder Hesjedal, Garmin :05

For more on the 2012 Giro d'Italia, stick with SB Nation Denver and visit cycling blog Podium Cafe.