clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Super Bowl Winners: Giants Will Enter 2012 Season Looking To Be 8th Team To Win Back-To-Back Super Bowls

The New York Giants have now won two Super Bowls since the 2007 season, which is nothing to scoff at. Since the Giants won during that season, the Pittsburgh Steelers, the New Orleans Saints and the Green Bay Packers each won a Super Bowl. No team was able to be a repeat champion, obviously. But the Giants will try to do that in 2012. If they do, they will become just the eighth franchise to win back-to-back Super Bowls.

The first team to accomplish it was the Green Bay Packers in Super Bowls I and II. The Miami Dolphins did it in Super Bowls VII and VIII, the former being the only undefeated Super Bowl Champion (14-0-0). The Pittsburgh Steelers then followed with two sets of back-to-back Super Bowl victories. The first set came in IX and X while XIII and XIV closed out the end of the 1970s Steelers dynasty.

We fast forward to the end of the 1980s when the San Francisco 49ers took XXIII and XXIV, the former a 55-10 destruction of the Denver Broncos. The Dallas Cowboys took XXVII and XXVIII, ending the Buffalo Bills' dynasty of making it to four consecutive Super Bowls and losing all of them.

The Denver Broncos were the next team to do it by winning XXXII and XXXIII. The New England Patriots took home the Lombardi Trophy in XXXVIII and XXIX.

Will the Giants be able to join this list of teams?

For more on the Patriots and their Super Bowl appearance, check out SB Nation's Patriots blog, Pats Pulpit as well as SB Nation Boston. For more on the Giants and their Super Bowl victory, visit Giants blog Big Blue View and SB Nation New York. For all news and information regarding Super Bowl XLVI, had over to SB Nation's dedicated Super Bowl hub.