clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rockies Vs. Marlins: Aaron Cook is Solid As Colorado Takes Series Finale, 12-5

Denver, CO (Sports Network) – Carlos Gonzalez, Chris Iannetta and the Colorado Rockies gave Ricky Nolasco the worst beating of his career en route to a 12-5 blowout of the Florida Marlins.

The Rockies pounded Nolasco (9-9) for 11 runs on 11 hits, highlighted by Gonzalez and Iannetta each knocking in four runs, the former capping the barrage with a three-run homer in the third.

Aaron Cook (3-7) was overshadowed by the offensive showcase with 7 2/3 quality innings, allowing three runs on nine hits. The Rockies have won three of five overall.

Jose Lopez spoiled a shutout bid with a leadoff homer in the eighth, and Mike Stanton added a two-run shot later in the inning to end Cook’s night.

The outcome, for all intents and purposes, was already decided by that point though, as Colorado jumped out to an 11-0 lead after three turns at the plate.

Nolasco entered Wednesday’s rubber match on the heels of a four-start stretch in which he went 3-1 and allowed just six runs.

He gave up nearly that many in the first inning alone.

Gonzalez started the onslaught by taking a 3-0 fastball to center field for an RBI single, then scoring on Chris Nelson’s infield hit. The bases were left loaded for Iannetta, who cleared the bags thanks to Mike Cameron misplaying his line drive to straightaway center.

The only positive to come out of Nolasco’s start came in the second when he fanned Mark Ellis to tie Dontrelle Willis’ club mark of 757 strikeouts.

The bright spot quickly became an afterthought after he surrendered six runs in the third. Iannetta, Cook and Mark Ellis each singled in runs, and Gonzalez golfed his 20th home run of the season over the right-field wall.

Eric Young Jr. plated Dexter Fowler in the eighth for the Rockies’ final run, and DeWayne Wise and Lopez each knocked in a run in the ninth to account for the final margin.

Colorado has an off day before starting a series against the Los Angeles Dodgers.