clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Tour De France Results: Edvald Boasson Hagen Captures Stage 6 Win

Riding through a rainy course for most of the day, Edvald Boasson Hagen took the win at Stage 6 of the 2011 Tour de France with a late ride down the final meters to take the lead. His winning time was 5:13:37. Matthew Goss and Thor Hushovd finished second and third, respectively. Because they received a blanket time, Hushovd still maintains the overall lead and his yellow jersey.

Hagen gained 45 points at the Lisieux finish, while Hushovd took 30 for third place. Hushovd remains third in the points chase and Hagen is in eighth/ Philippe Gilbert holds the green jersey. Overall, Hagen is eighth in the individual time portion. Geraint Thomas is still the overall youth leader at 22:50:46.

Johnny Hoogerland picked up three points in the climb sections of the race, two points on Côte de Saint-Michel de Montjoie and one point on Côte du Bourg d'Ouilly. Anthony Roux took two points on the latter and Lieuwe Westra received the only point on Côte du Billot.

The top five:

1. Thor Hushovd 22:50:34
2. Cadel Evans 22:50:35
3. Frank Schleck 22:50:38
4. David Millar 22:50:42
5. Andreas Klöden 22:50:44

For in-depth coverage of the race, visit out cycling blog, Podium Cafe, and our SB Nation StoryStream.