clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 College World Series Results: South Carolina Defeats Florida For Back-To-Back NCAA Baseball Championships

The South Carolina Gamecocks defeated the Florida Gators, 5-2, becoming the first team to capture back-to-back College World Series championships since the Oregon State Beavers did it 2006-07. The Gamecocks went undefeated on their way to victory, winning 16 straight NCAA Tournament games and 11 straight College World Series games, both new records.

South Carolina jumped out to a 3-0 lead in the bottom of the third inning of a sacrifice fly, a run-scoring error by Florida SS Nolan Fontana and then a Brady Thomas single. Florida catcher Mike Zunino answered back with a solo home run in the top of the fourth. However, a Peter Mooney home run in the sixth negated that Florida run. Florida's Josh Adams drove in a run in the top of the eighth, but South Carolina answered right back with a Scott Wingo RBI single to put the score at 5-2.

South Carolina starter Michael Roth (1.06 ERA) made a start on three days' rest and shut down Florida for the game. In 7.2 innings he allowed both runs on five hits and two walks. He struck out six. Matt Price, also a pitcher who entered the championship series with a heavy workload behind him, pitched the final 1.1 innings. Florida starter Karsten Whitson allowed three runs (one earned) in 4.2 innings.

Florida's Preston Tucker will now need to decide on a pro career with the Colorado Rockies or on a return to Florida for another chance at a College World Championship Series in 2012.

Here are the complete championship results:

Championship Game 1: South Carolina def. Florida, 2-1 (11 innings)
Championship Game 2: South Carolina def. Florida, 5-2