clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Indy 500 Results: Dan Wheldon Wins As J.R. Hildebrand Crashes On Final Turn

After finishing second in the last two Indianapolis 500s, Dan Wheldon crossed the finish line when rookie J.R. Hildebrand crashed into the wall on the final turn. While Hildebrand was able to get his car past the line, Wheldon was able to overtake him and capture his second Indy 500 victory, having won the 2005 race. Hildebrand finished second and Graham Rahal, who started 29th, finished third.

Hildebrand entered the final lap having passed Bertrand Baguette for the lead. Danica Patrick crept into the top 10 late in the race and held the lead ever so briefly before she needed to head to the pit.

Wheldon hails from England, but he raced in a car that was decorated in commemoration of Ronald Reagan's centennial birth date.

Full results:

  1. Dan Wheldon
  2. J.R. Hildebrand
  3. Graham Rahal
  4. Tony Kanaan
  5. Oriol Servia
  6. Scott Dixon
  7. Bertrand Baguette
  8. Tomas Scheckter
  9. Marco Andretti
  10. Danica Patrick
  11. Ed Carpenter
  12. Dario Franchitti
  13. Charlie Kimball
  14. Will Power
  15. Vitor Meira
  16. Justin Wilson
  17. Helio Castroneves
  18. Buddy Rice
  19. Alex Lloyd
  20. Pippa Mann
  21. Ana Beatriz
  22. John Andretti
  23. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  24. Davey Hamilton
  25. Paul Tracy
  26. Townsend Bell
  27. Ryan Briscoe
  28. Alex Tagliani
  29. James Hinchcliffe
  30. Jay Howard
  31. Simona de Silvestro
  32. E.J. Viso
  33. Takuma Sato