clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Lacrosse Final Four 2011: Denver Pioneers Seek To Crash Championship Party

The current setup for the NCAA Lacrosse Tournament has been in place since 1971, and in the 40 tournaments that have taken place only eight teams have won the championship. Of the eight teams, three will play in the semifinals on Saturday, May 28: Duke, Maryland and Virginia. Duke joined that group in 2010 when they won their first tournament championship.

This year, the Denver Pioneers will look to crash the party and win their first championship. They have already picked up their first two tournament victories in school history this year by beating Villanova in the opening round and the nine-time champions, Johns Hopkins Blue Jays, in the quarterfinals.

Virginia last won the tournament in 2006, while the Terrapins need to go all the way back to 1973 and 1975 to recall their championships. Maryland was the only unseeded team to advance to the semifinals this year.

Here is the upcoming schedule for the Final Four, which takes place in Baltimore, MD at M&T Bank Stadium:

Saturday, May 28
No. 6 Denver Pioneers vs. No. 7 Virginia Cavaliers, 2:00 p.m. MT, ESPN2/
No. 5 Duke Blue Devils vs. Maryland Terrapins, 4:30 p.m. MT, ESPN2/

Monday, May 30
Championship Game, 1:30 p.m. MT, ESPN/

Please visit College Crosse for more on the 2011 NCAA Lacrosse Tournament.