clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Frozen Four 2011 Teams: No. 1 North Dakota Faces Michigan; Minnesota-Duluth Takes On Notre Dame

The Frozen Four for the 2011 NCAA Men's Hockey Tournament is set following two Sunday regional final games. The North Dakota Fighting Sioux defeated the Denver Pioneers, 6-1, and the Notre Dame Fighting Irish beat the New Hampshire Wildcats, 2-1.

North Dakota, the only remaining No. 1 seed, and Notre Dame join Michigan and Minnesota-Duluth in the Frozen Four. On Saturday, Michigan defeated Colorado College, 2-1, and Minnesota-Duluth sent the No. 1 overall seed Yale Bulldogs home following a 5-3 victory.

Of the four participants, Michigan has the most championships in tournament history with nine. Minnesota-Duluth lost in the 1984 championship game, 5-4 in four overtimes, to Bowling Green. Notre Dame appeared in the 2008 championship game and lost to Boston College, 4-1. North Dakota has seven NCAA titles, the most recent coming in a 4-2 victory over Boston College in 2000. Their last appearance in the championship game came in 2005 when they lost, 4-1, to the Denver Pioneers.

Here is the remaining schedule:

April 7
Frozen Four
Minnesota-Duluth vs. Notre Dame, ESPN2/
Michigan vs. North Dakota, ESPN2/

April 9
Championship game, 5:00 p.m. MT, ESPN/