clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Daytona 500 Winner: Rookie Trevor Bayne Becomes Race's Youngest Champion

The 2011 Daytona 500 winner is 20-year-old Trevor Bayne, driving the No. 21 car for Wood Brothers Racing. He is the youngest winner in the race's history, having turned 20 on Saturday, and the 35th different drive to take the final flag. This was just his second start.

A Green-White-Checkered flag situation was brought out for the final stretch of the race, which rookie Bayne led at the start of it. Though he had limited fuel left none of the other drivers were able to make a move on him on the fourth turn. All Bayne could say as he crossed the finish line was, "Are you kidding me!?"

Finishing behind Bayne in the top five were Carl Edwards, David Gilliland, Bobby Labonte and Kurt Busch.

My chosen favorite for this race, Greg Biffle, did not complete the race and finished 35th. On lap 135, he tapped teammate Matt Kenseth, who then crashed into the wall. On lap 147, Biffle was out of the race after wrecking his car in a crash with Juan Pablo Montoya.

Lap 29 featured a 14-car crash. Michael Waltrip and teammate David Reutimann started the crash when the former sent the latter into the path of cars. There were a record 16 cautions in this race.

Visit SB Nation NASCAR for their in-depth coverage on all things Daytona 500.