clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards: Tonight Is A Prelude To The Heisman Trophy

The college football regular season is over and now it is onto the award season. Tonight in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. will be the site for the 2010 college football awards and a lot of hardware will be handed out. The big award is the Maxwell Award which is given out to the best player and typically that winner has not gone on to win the Heisman. Only twice since 1998 that the Maxwell Award winner and the Heisman Trophy winner has been the same. In 1998 Texas running back Ricky Williams and then Florida quarterback Tim Tebow in 2007, so that is something to look for.

This is all to the build up to the Heisman Trophy which will be announced Saturday night in New York City.

Maxwell Award (best all-around player)
Andrew Luck, Jr., Stanford
Kellen Moore, Jr., Boise State
Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn

Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback)
Andrew Luck, Jr., Stanford
Kellen Moore, Jr., Boise State
Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn

Doak Walker Award (best running back)
John Clay, Jr., Wisconsin
Kendall Hunter, Sr., Oklahoma State
LaMichael James, So., Oregon

Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)
Da'Quan Bowers, Jr., Clemson
Nick Fairley, Jr., Auburn
Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU

Biletnikoff Award (best receiver)
Justin Blackmon, So., Oklahoma State
Ryan Broyles, Jr., Oklahoma
Alshon Jeffery, So., South Carolina

Lou Groza Award (best kicker)
Dan Bailey, Sr., Oklahoma State
Danny Hrapmann, Jr., Univ. of Southern Miss.
David Ruffer, Sr., Notre Dame

Ray Guy Award (best punter)
Drew Butler, Jr., Georgia
Ryan Donahue, Sr., Iowa
Chas Henry, Sr., Florida

Outland Trophy (best interior lineman)
Gabe Carimi, Sr., Wisconsin
Rodney Hudson, Sr., Florida State
Nate Solder, Sr., Colorado

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)
Prince Amukamara, Sr., Nebraska
Tejay Johnson, Sr., TCU
Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU