clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Report: University Of Denver Pioneers, Two Others To Join WAC

According to ESPN's Andy Katz the University of Denver Pioneers, Texas-San Antonio Roadrunners and Texas State Bobcats will join the WAC beginning in the 2012-13 season.

Denver University, Texas-San Antonio and Texas State will join the WAC in 2012-13 to offset the departures of Boise State, Fresno State and Nevada to the Mountain West, multiple sources told

UTSA, which still needs official approval from the board of regents, and Texas State will join in all sports. Denver will join for all sports except for football, since the Pioneers don't play at the FBS level.

Also in the report Katz states that the Montana Grizzlies have been invited to join the conference and are mulling the decision. If Montana declines the option the University of Seattle will be extended an offer.

An official announcement from the WAC, who headquarters are located in Denver, should come on Thursday, November 11.

The Pioneers currently play in the Sun Belt conference. UTSA and Texas State are members of the Southland conference.