clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jason Elam, Larry Walker Among Six Selected For 2011 Colorado Sports Hall Of Fame

On Tuesday, Oct. 26, former Denver Broncos kicker Jason Elam and former Colorado Rockies outfielder Larry Walker were among six selected to be inducted into the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame:

In addition to Elam and Walker, the selection committee also elected former University of Colorado and Denver Broncos defensive lineman Alfred Williams; former President of the Colorado Rockies Keli McGregor; legendary race car driver Bobby Unser; and Art Berglund for his contributions to USA Hockey.

Jason Elam was a staple on the Denver Broncos roster for nearly 15 years and has a strong case to be an NFL Hall of Famer in the future with nearly 2,000 career points. Larry Walker won the 1997 NL MVP award, the only Rockie to do so. He remains the most talented player to ever don a Rockies uniform. If only injuries hadn't ruined his career. 

Keli McGregor was the Colorado Rockies' team president before he died of a rare virus that attacked his heart back in April. The team has yet to name his replacement as team president. McGregor played college football for the Colorado State Rams, but lasted only one year in the NFL. He eventually moved on to a successful career with the Colorado Rockies.

The induction ceremony takes place Tues., April 12, 2011.