2011 Indy 500: Lineup, Schedule & TV Info

The 95th running of the Indianapolis 500 takes place on Sunday, May 30. It's a staple of the Memorial Day weekend and even if one is not a fan of Indy Car racing, the event itself is filled with so much fanfare that it is nearly impossible to avoid turning on the race toward the end to see who has captured the flag.

While this is the 95th race, the event is 100 years old, having first taken place in 1911. The race was canceled during the two World Wars.

ABC will have coverage of the event, as usual. It starts with a Centennial Celebration show at 9:00 p.m. MT before the race begins roughly around 10:00 a.m. MT.

Last year's winner was Dario Franchitti and he sits No. 9 in the grid. The pole-sitter is Alex Tagliani, who finished 10th last year. Danica Patrick sits No. 25. At the back of the race is Ryan Hunter-Reay, originally a non-qualifier. His teammate, Marco Andretti, pushed him out, but Andretti Autosport bought from A.J. Foyt Bruno Junqueira's No. 41 car. Under race rules, the No. 41 car moves from 19th to 33rd.

Simona de Silvestro was involved in a crash during practice last week, but will race with burns on her hands.

Here is the complete field:

Pos. Driver  Speed
1 Alex Tagliani  227.472
2 Scott Dixon  227.340
3 Oriol Servia  227.168
4 Townsend Bell  226.887
5 Will Power  226.773
6 Dan Wheldon  226.490
7 Buddy Rice  225.786
8 Ed Carpenter  225.121
9 Dario Franchitti  225.121
10 Takuma Sato  225.736
11 Vitor Meira  225.590
12 J.R. Hildebrand  225.579
13 James Hinchcliffe  225.572
14 Bertrand Baguette  225.285
15 Davey Hamilton  225.250
16 Helio Castroneves  225.216
17 John Andretti  224.981
18 E.J. Viso  224.732
19 Justin Wilson  224.511
20 Jay Howard  224.483
21 Tomas Scheckter  224.433
22 Tony Kanaan  224.417
23 Simona de Silvestro  224.392
24 Paul Tracy  224.939
25 Danica Patrick  224.861
26 Ryan Briscoe  224.639
27 Marco Andretti  224.628
28 Charlie Kimball  224.499
29 Graham Rahal  224.380
30 Alex Lloyd  223.957
31 Pippa Mann  223.936
32 Ana Beatriz  223.879
33 Ryan Hunter-Reay  223.690

Visit Pop Off Valve for more on the Indy 500.

Trending Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Denver

You must be a member of SB Nation Denver to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Denver. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Denver

You must be a member of SB Nation Denver to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Denver. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.