HOMESTEAD FL - OCTOBER 01: Dan Wheldon of Great Britain drives the #4 National Guard Panther Racing Dallara Honda during practice for the IZOD IndyCar Series NextEra Energy Indy Championships at Homestead-Miami Speedway on October 1 2010 in Homestead Florida. (Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images)

2011 Indy 500: Dan Wheldon Wins As J.R. Hildebrand Crashes In Final Seconds

The 95th running of the Indianapolis 500 finished with Dan Wheldon capturing the checkered flag.

  • Live
3 Total Updates since May 29, 2011
  • Updates 3
  • All Updates 3

VIDEO: J.R. Hildebrand Crashes During Indy 500 Finish

What a wild finish to the 2011 Indianapolis 500. Danica Patrick led at one point, but then Bertrand Baguette took the lead. And he kept it until rookie J.R. Hildebrand passed him during the final lap. Hildebrand had the lead going into the final turn, but then he crashed into the wall, losing first place and the checkered flag. Dan Wheldon crossed the finish line in first place.


Get the Flash Player to see this video.

via @bubbaprog

Too be so close and then lose it all with the race just seconds from ending, I can't quite imagine how it feels to be the rookie Hildebrand now. It was within his grasp and he just couldn't keep it there. The crash wasn't all that bad, in terms of damage since he was able to still finish second. That is an accomplishment itself that may be overlooked because of the crash. Second place in the Indy 500 is nothing to scoff at.


2011 Indy 500 Results: Dan Wheldon Wins As J.R. Hildebrand Crashes On Final Turn

After finishing second in the last two Indianapolis 500s, Dan Wheldon crossed the finish line when rookie J.R. Hildebrand crashed into the wall on the final turn. While Hildebrand was able to get his car past the line, Wheldon was able to overtake him and capture his second Indy 500 victory, having won the 2005 race. Hildebrand finished second and Graham Rahal, who started 29th, finished third.

Hildebrand entered the final lap having passed Bertrand Baguette for the lead. Danica Patrick crept into the top 10 late in the race and held the lead ever so briefly before she needed to head to the pit.

Wheldon hails from England, but he raced in a car that was decorated in commemoration of Ronald Reagan's centennial birth date.

Full results:

  1. Dan Wheldon
  2. J.R. Hildebrand
  3. Graham Rahal
  4. Tony Kanaan
  5. Oriol Servia
  6. Scott Dixon
  7. Bertrand Baguette
  8. Tomas Scheckter
  9. Marco Andretti
  10. Danica Patrick
  11. Ed Carpenter
  12. Dario Franchitti
  13. Charlie Kimball
  14. Will Power
  15. Vitor Meira
  16. Justin Wilson
  17. Helio Castroneves
  18. Buddy Rice
  19. Alex Lloyd
  20. Pippa Mann
  21. Ana Beatriz
  22. John Andretti
  23. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  24. Davey Hamilton
  25. Paul Tracy
  26. Townsend Bell
  27. Ryan Briscoe
  28. Alex Tagliani
  29. James Hinchcliffe
  30. Jay Howard
  31. Simona de Silvestro
  32. E.J. Viso
  33. Takuma Sato

2011 Indy 500: Lineup, Schedule & TV Info

The 95th running of the Indianapolis 500 takes place on Sunday, May 30. It's a staple of the Memorial Day weekend and even if one is not a fan of Indy Car racing, the event itself is filled with so much fanfare that it is nearly impossible to avoid turning on the race toward the end to see who has captured the flag.

While this is the 95th race, the event is 100 years old, having first taken place in 1911. The race was canceled during the two World Wars.

ABC will have coverage of the event, as usual. It starts with a Centennial Celebration show at 9:00 p.m. MT before the race begins roughly around 10:00 a.m. MT.

Last year's winner was Dario Franchitti and he sits No. 9 in the grid. The pole-sitter is Alex Tagliani, who finished 10th last year. Danica Patrick sits No. 25. At the back of the race is Ryan Hunter-Reay, originally a non-qualifier. His teammate, Marco Andretti, pushed him out, but Andretti Autosport bought from A.J. Foyt Bruno Junqueira's No. 41 car. Under race rules, the No. 41 car moves from 19th to 33rd.

Simona de Silvestro was involved in a crash during practice last week, but will race with burns on her hands.

Here is the complete field:

Pos. Driver  Speed
1 Alex Tagliani  227.472
2 Scott Dixon  227.340
3 Oriol Servia  227.168
4 Townsend Bell  226.887
5 Will Power  226.773
6 Dan Wheldon  226.490
7 Buddy Rice  225.786
8 Ed Carpenter  225.121
9 Dario Franchitti  225.121
10 Takuma Sato  225.736
11 Vitor Meira  225.590
12 J.R. Hildebrand  225.579
13 James Hinchcliffe  225.572
14 Bertrand Baguette  225.285
15 Davey Hamilton  225.250
16 Helio Castroneves  225.216
17 John Andretti  224.981
18 E.J. Viso  224.732
19 Justin Wilson  224.511
20 Jay Howard  224.483
21 Tomas Scheckter  224.433
22 Tony Kanaan  224.417
23 Simona de Silvestro  224.392
24 Paul Tracy  224.939
25 Danica Patrick  224.861
26 Ryan Briscoe  224.639
27 Marco Andretti  224.628
28 Charlie Kimball  224.499
29 Graham Rahal  224.380
30 Alex Lloyd  223.957
31 Pippa Mann  223.936
32 Ana Beatriz  223.879
33 Ryan Hunter-Reay  223.690

Visit Pop Off Valve for more on the Indy 500.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Denver

You must be a member of SB Nation Denver to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Denver. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Denver

You must be a member of SB Nation Denver to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Denver. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.