College Football Awards: Colorado's Nate Solder Named To 2010 AP All-American Team

Nate Solder was named to the AP All-American team.

  • Live
4 Total Updates since December 9, 2010
  • Important 3
  • Updates 4
  • All Updates 4

AP All-American Team Features Colorado OL Nate Solder

The 2010 Associated Press All-American Team was announced earlier today, and Colorado offensive lineman Nate Solder made the team. Last week, Solder was named to the Walter Camp All-American team.

On the offensive line, Solder was joined by the 2010 Outland Trophy winner, Gabe Carimi of Wisconsin, and fellow Outland Trophy finalist, Rodney Hudson of Florida State. Carimi’s teammate, John Moffitt, and Stanford’s Chase Beeler were the other offensive lineman to appear.

Solder will play in the Senior Bowl on January 29, 2011 and is expected to be a high draft selection in April.

Safety Tejay Johnson of TCU was the only Mountain West Conference player to be named to the team. To no surprise at all, Auburn’s Heisman-winning QB Cam Newton made the team, as did Oregon’s Heisman finalist, RB LaMichael James.

The Big 12 had nine players appear in the team, most of any conference. The SEC came in second with five, while the Big East, one of the BCS conferences, had no players appear.


Auburn Sweeps Top Awards With Cam Newton Claiming Maxwell, Davey O'Brien Award

The college football awards were handed out today and Auburn ran away with the biggest awards. Cam Newton won both the Maxwell Award as the best all-around player and the Davey O'Brien Award for the best quarterback, Auburn head coach Gus Malzhan won the award for top assistant coach of the year and head coach Gene Chizik won the Home Depot coach of the year.

Now onto the list of 2010 winners.

Maxwell Award (best all-around player)

Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn

Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback)

Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn

Doak Walker Award (best running back)

LaMichael James, So., Oregon

Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)

Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU

Outland Trophy Award (best interior offensive lineman)

Gabe Carimi, Sr., Wisconsin

Biletnikoff Award (best receiver)

Justin Blackmon, So., Oklahoma State

Lou Groza Award (best kicker)

Dan Bailey, Sr., Oklahoma State

Ray Guy Award (best punter)

Chas Henry, Sr., Florida

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)

Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU

Now the next big award to be unveiled is the Heisman Trophy this Saturday night Dec. 11 in New York City.


Colorado's Nate Solder Misses On 2010 Outland Trophy, But Named Walter Camp All-American

While Wisconsin redshirt senior offensive tackle Gabe Carimi won the 2010 Outland Trophy, an award given to the most outstanding interior lineman in college football, over Colorado's Nate Solder, both made the Walter Camp All-American team on Thursday night.

Florida State guard Rodney Hudson, also a finalist for the Outland Trophy, made the team with Carimi and Solder. Auburn quarterback Cam Newton and Oregon running back LaMichael James headline the offense, while Auburn junior defensive lineman Nick Fairley and LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson lead the defense.

At 6-foot-9 and 300-plus pounds, Solder is considered potential first round draft pick in April 2011. He will showcase his skills in the postseason Senior Bowl, played on Saturday, January 29, 2011 at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Ala.

Solder had previously been named to the Coaches' All-Big 12 team.

No Air Force players made the team, but three Mountain West Conference players appeared: TCU center Jake Kirkpatrick, TCU defensive back Tejay Johnson and Utah kick returner Shaky Smithson. Kirkpatrick took home the 2010 Rimington Trophy, an award for the best center in college footbal.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Denver

You must be a member of SB Nation Denver to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Denver. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Denver

You must be a member of SB Nation Denver to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Denver. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.