2010 Heisman Trophy Winner: Cam Newton, QB, Auburn

Cam Newton is the third Auburn player to win the Heisman Trophy.

  • Live
3 Total Updates since December 10, 2010
  • Important 2
  • Updates 3
  • All Updates 3

2010 Heisman Trophy Winner: Auburn's Cam Newton

The 2010 Heisman Trophy was a formality, as Auburn's Cam Newton has long been considered the overwhelming favorite following the beat down Auburn gave to South Carolina in the SEC title game. Newton won the award by the fourth largest margin ever by defeating runner-up Andrew Luck with 79 percent of all possible first-place votes. Of the 926 ballots mailed out, 886 were returned. Newton was omitted on 105 ballots, but was first on 93 percent of the ballots on those that included him.

The final order was Cam Newton, Stanford's Andrew Luck, Oregon's LaMichael James and then Boise State's Kellen Moore. 

This is Auburn's third Heisman Trophy winner, the previous two were quarterback Pat Sullivan in 1971 and running back Bo Jackson in 1985.

In his acceptance speech, Newton was so overwhelmed in the moment that he was unable to come out with his remarks early on. A person in the crowd shouted, "We love you, Cam!" to provide a moment of relief.

The Heisman Trophy is college football's oldest award and it was first won in 1935 by Chicago's Jay Berwanger. Last year's recipient was Alabama running back Mark Ingram. Now Cam Newton joins the Heisman Club and becomes enshrined as one of college football's all-time greats.


2010 Heisman Trophy: Cam Newton Is Your (Likely) Winner

The Heisman trophy will be announced tonight at 8 p.m. (ET) on ESPN and the winner looks to be Auburn's Cam Newton. Newton winning the award is not going to shock anyone, but the amount he is projected to win by is looking to be one of the widest margins in the awards illustrious 76-year history. According to the very scientific StiffArmTrophy.com--who scour to find who voted for who from the Heisman voters--they project Cam Newton to be the winner and perhaps with the fourth or fifth widest margin ever. Here is how they project the top four will finish out, the site has ballots from 211 Heisman voters.


StiffArmTrophy.com also has the list of others who so far have received a first place vote. Those would be Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson, who acquired at least three first place votes, Oklahoma State wide receiver Justin Blackmon with one and Stanford fullback/linebacker Owen Marecic also received at least one first place vote.

The most bizarre ballot belongs to AOL Fanhouse's David Whitley who voted his top three in this order: Stanford's LB/FB Owen Marecic, Colorado OL Nate Solder and Texas DE Sam Acho. Not sure if he is making a statement vote or if he really thinks those are the three most outstanding college football players this year.

Last year's Heisman vote was the closest ever with Alabama's Mark Ingram winning by just one percent over Stanford's Toby Gerhart, but this year's will be a blowout. The only excitement tonight will be how big the final margin turns out to be.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Denver

You must be a member of SB Nation Denver to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Denver. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Denver

You must be a member of SB Nation Denver to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Denver. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.